0 Items $0.00

How to Be Black (Paperback)

How to Be Black Cover Image
List Price: $15.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $1.60 10%)
Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!

Description


The Onion’s Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media’s insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture’s richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America’s blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston’s How to Be Black.

About the Author


Baratunde Thurston is the director of digital at The Onion, the cofounder of Jack & Jill Politics, a stand-up comedian, and a globe-trotting speaker. He was named one of the 100 most influential African-Americans of 2011 by The Root and one of the 100 most creative people in business by Fast Company magazine. Baratunde resides in Brooklyn and lives on Twitter (@baratunde).

Praise For…


“Part autobiography, part stand-up routine, part contemporary political analysis, and astute all over.... Reading this book made me both laugh and weep with poignant recognition.... A hysterical, irreverent exploration of one of America’s most painful and enduring issues.”
Melissa Harris-Perry

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir. . . . Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.”
Publishers Weekly

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.”
Fast Company

"Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black."
The Root

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.”
Booklist

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.”
Christian Lander (via Twitter)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062003225
ISBN-10: 0062003224
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 30th, 2012
Pages: 272
Language: English

How to Use Your Gift Cards Online

Hello! If you have a Flying Pig gift card (the cute plastic one with the pig and clouds), here's how to use it online:

Select the books you'd like to order. During the checkout process, you'll see a menu of options. Click on the little black arrow next to Store Gift Card pane:

Once you've expanded that menu item, you'll see a box to check Yes:

Once you click the checkbox Yes, you'll be asked to enter your gift card number. That's the number under the barcode on the back of your gift card. It might be a short or long number:

Enter it into the box below the words Enter Your Gift Card Number:

That's it! You will have to add a credit card as a backup in case your gift card doesn't cover the full amount of your purchase. **Because the website doesn't 'know' what amount is on your store gift card — the website and store system are separate entities — you will not see your gift card applied until your order leaves its Pending status and is Processing or Completed.**

If you received an Online Gift Code (NOT a physical card, but a string of numbers and letters emailed to you), please refer to your emailed gift to redeem those! They are applied instantly when you visit the website via the gift code email.

If you have further questions, please email us at flyingpigorders@gmail.com!