The Magic Misfits (Paperback)

The Magic Misfits Cover Image
By Neil Patrick Harris, Lissy Marlin (Illustrator), Kyle Hilton (Illustrator)
List Price: $7.99
Our Price: $7.19
(Save: $0.80 10%)
Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Magic Misfits series.

Description


A New York Times bestseller and USA Today bestselling book! From award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris comes the magical first book in a new series with plenty of tricks up its sleeve.

When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on.

After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded illusionists. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they'll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso's villainous clutches. These six Magic Misfits will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series.

(Psst. Hey, you! Yes, you! Congratulations on reading this far. As a reward, I'll let you in on a little secret... This book isn't just a book. It's a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you'll discover more than just a story--you'll learn how to make your own magic!)

About the Author


Neil Patrick Harris is an accomplished actor, producer, director, host, author, husband, and a father of magical twins. Harris also served as President of the Academy of Magical Arts from 2011-2014. His memoir, Choose Your Own Autobiography, was a NY Times Bestseller. The Magic Misfits was his middle grade debut.

Praise For…


Praise for The Magic Misfits:
A 2018 Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist for Middle Grade
A 2018-2019 New Hampshire Great Stone Face Book Award Nominee
Nominated for the 2020 Bluestem Award: Illinois' Grades 3-5 Readers' Choice Award
Nominated for the 2019-2020 Nebraska Golden Sower Award (Chapter Books)



"I read this book with excitement, delight, and the increasing suspicion that it was going to make me disappear."—Lemony Snicket, author of the bestselling series A Series of Unfortunate Events and All the Wrong Questions

"An earnest message about discovering the magic in the world and finding the family that suits you."—Kirkus Reviews

"The approachable length and lively, funny writing will ensure this book, the first in a series, performs its own vanishing act from shelves."—Booklist

"A rollicking ride of a magical tale that's wholesomely suspenseful, values friendship, and applauds courage."—School Library Journal

"[A] good choice for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch. With an emphasis on friendship and individuality, this fast-paced and clever series opener should have readers eager to check out future installments."—Publishers Weekly

"Fun...A worthy first volume."—BCCB

"Adventure, suspense, and excitement await these young magic misfits as they learn to trust one another and become friends."—School Library Connection


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316355575
ISBN-10: 0316355577
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: The Magic Misfits

How to Use Your Gift Cards Online

Hello! If you have a Flying Pig gift card (the cute plastic one with the pig and clouds), here's how to use it online:

Select the books you'd like to order. During the checkout process, you'll see a menu of options. Click on the little black arrow next to Store Gift Card pane:

Once you've expanded that menu item, you'll see a box to check Yes:

Once you click the checkbox Yes, you'll be asked to enter your gift card number. That's the number under the barcode on the back of your gift card. It might be a short or long number:

Enter it into the box below the words Enter Your Gift Card Number:

That's it! You will have to add a credit card as a backup in case your gift card doesn't cover the full amount of your purchase. **Because the website doesn't 'know' what amount is on your store gift card — the website and store system are separate entities — you will not see your gift card applied until your order leaves its Pending status and is Processing or Completed.**

If you received an Online Gift Code (NOT a physical card, but a string of numbers and letters emailed to you), please refer to your emailed gift to redeem those! They are applied instantly when you visit the website via the gift code email.

If you have further questions, please email us at flyingpigorders@gmail.com!