0 Items $0.00

Jamaica Kincaid

Image result for Jamaica Kincaid

Jamaica Kincaid was born Elaine Potter Richardson on Antigua in 1949.

In 1965 she left Antigua for New York to work as an au pair, then studied photography at the New York School for Social Research and attended Franconia College in New Hampshire.

In 1972 she changed her name to Jamaica Kincaid and was a staff writer for the New Yorker magazine from 1974-1996, publishing her first book, At the Bottom of the River, a collection of short stories, in 1983. Her first novel, Annie John, followed in 1985 - the story of a wilful 10-year-old growing up on Antigua. Further novels include Lucy (1990); The Autobiography of my Mother (1996), a novel set on Dominica and told by a 70-year-old woman looking back on her life; and Mr. Potter (2007). A Small Place (1988), is a short, powerful book about the effects of colonialism. My Brother (1997) chronicles her brother's batlle with AIDS.

Her love of gardening has also led to several books on the subject, including My Garden (2000) and Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya (2005), a memoir about a seed-gathering trek with three botanist friends. Her novel See Now Then (2013) won the Before Columbus Foundation America Book Award in 2014. 

Jamaica Kincaid teaches in the English, African and African-American Studies Department at Harvard University and lives in Vermont.

At the Bottom of the River Cover Image
$13.50
ISBN: 9780374527341
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 15th, 2000

Jamaica Kincaid's At the Bottom of the River ... inspired, lyrical short stories


A Small Place Cover Image
$12.60
ISBN: 9780374527075
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 28th, 2000

A brilliant look at colonialism and its effects in Antigua--by the author of Annie John


Mr. Potter: A Novel Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780374528744
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - July 16th, 2003

The story of an ordinary man, his century, and his home: "Kincaid's most poetic and affecting novel to date" (Robert Antoni, The Washington Post Book World)


Talk Stories Cover Image
By Jamaica Kincaid, Ian Frazier (Introduction by)
$21.60
ISBN: 9780374527914
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 9th, 2002

From "The Talk of the Town," Jamaica Kincaid's first impressions of snobbish, mobbish New York


Annie John: A Novel Cover Image
$12.60
ISBN: 9780374525101
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - June 30th, 1997

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood.


See Now Then: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374534363
Availability: Backordered
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 4th, 2014

In See Now Then, the brilliant and evocative new novel from Jamaica Kincaid—her first in ten years—a marriage is revealed in all its joys and agonies.


How to Use Your Gift Cards Online

Hello! If you have a Flying Pig gift card (the cute plastic one with the pig and clouds), here's how to use it online:

Select the books you'd like to order. During the checkout process, you'll see a menu of options. Click on the little black arrow next to Store Gift Card pane:

Once you've expanded that menu item, you'll see a box to check Yes:

Once you click the checkbox Yes, you'll be asked to enter your gift card number. That's the number under the barcode on the back of your gift card. It might be a short or long number:

Enter it into the box below the words Enter Your Gift Card Number:

That's it! You will have to add a credit card as a backup in case your gift card doesn't cover the full amount of your purchase. **Because the website doesn't 'know' what amount is on your store gift card — the website and store system are separate entities — you will not see your gift card applied until your order leaves its Pending status and is Processing or Completed.**

If you received an Online Gift Code (NOT a physical card, but a string of numbers and letters emailed to you), please refer to your emailed gift to redeem those! They are applied instantly when you visit the website via the gift code email.

If you have further questions, please email us at flyingpigorders@gmail.com!