0 Items $0.00

Some of Our All Time Favorite Diverse Books

We believe the books we share should reflect the members of our community, because every child deserves to see themselves in the stories we read. Below you'll find an evolving list of some of our all time favorite diverse reads!

Julián Is a Mermaid Cover Image
By Jessica Love, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$15.29
ISBN: 9780763690458
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 23rd, 2018

Winner of a 2019 Stonewall Book Award

In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.


Alma and How She Got Her Name Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780763693558
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 10th, 2018

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book

What’s in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from — and who she may one day be.


Thank You, Omu! Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9780316431248
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.


Sofia Valdez, Future Prez (The Questioneers) Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$17.09
ISBN: 9781419737046
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - November 5th, 2019

Hair Love Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780525553366
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

"I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this."
     - Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker


A Normal Pig Cover Image
By K-Fai Steele, K-Fai Steele (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9780062748577
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 4th, 2019

This charming picture book celebrates all our differences while questioning the idea that there is only one way to be “normal.”

Pip is a normal pig who does normal stuff: cooking, painting, and dreaming of what she’ll be when she grows up.


Under the Love Umbrella Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781947534971
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribble Us - January 7th, 2020

A beautiful tale celebrating the invisible, protective, omnipresent love love between parents and children.

From this award-winning creative duo comes a stunning celebration of the joy and comfort that love can bring--wherever we roam in the big, wild world.

No matter what challenges children may face, they can always rely on the love umbrella above them.


Dreamers Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9780823440559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 4th, 2018

We are resilience. We are hope. We are dreamers.
 
Yuyi Morales brought her hopes, her passion, her strength, and her stories with her, when she came to the United States in 1994 with her infant son. She left behind nearly everything she owned, but she didn't come empty-handed.


The Journey Cover Image
$16.16
ISBN: 9781909263994
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flying Eye Books - September 13th, 2016

". . . a wonderful teaching tool for those who are welcoming refugees into their community."—The New York Times


Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History (Vashti Harrison) Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316475112
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - December 5th, 2017

This beautifully illustrated board book edition of instant bestseller Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History showcases women who changed the world and is the perfect goodnight book to inspire big dreams.


Harriet Gets Carried Away Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781481469111
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

From the author and illustrator of the bestselling Not Quite Narwhal comes a sweet and funny story about remembering where you belong, no matter how far you roam, or what you’re wearing when you get there.

Harriet loves costumes. She wears them to the dentist, to the supermarket, and most importantly, to her super-special dress-up birthday party.


Princess Hair Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780316562614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 2017

Princesses with curls wear pearls. Princesses with head wraps take long naps. And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows.


Why Am I Me? Cover Image
By Paige Britt, Selina Alko (Illustrator), Sean Qualls (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781338053142
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - August 29th, 2017

Presented as a thoughtful, poetic exchange between two characters -- who don't realize they are thinking and asking the very same questions -- this beautiful celebration of our humanity and diversity invites readers of all ages to imagine a world where there is no you or me, only we.


Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut (Denene Millner Books) Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.06
ISBN: 9781572842243
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Agate Bolden - October 10th, 2017

Winner of the 2018 Kirkus Prize for Young Readers
A Newbery Honor Book
A Caldecott Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book
An Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award Book
An Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Honor Book
A Society of Illustrators Gold Medal Book


Follow one day in the real lives of seven kids from around the world—Italy, Japan, Iran, India, Peru, Uganda, and Russia!

In Japan, Kei plays Freeze Tag, while in Uganda, Daphine likes to jump rope. While the way they play may differ, the shared rhythm of their days—and this one world we all share—unites them.