0 Items $0.00

Sydney Lea

Image result for sydney lea

Sydney Lea is the author of the poetry collections Searching the Drowned Man (1980), The Floating Candles (1982), No Sign (1987), Prayer for the Little City (1991), Pursuit of a Wound (2000), Ghost Pain (2005), Young of the Year (2011), I Was Thinking of Beauty (2013), and No Doubt the Nameless (2016); his collection To the Bone: New and Selected Poems was co-winner of the 1998 Poets’ Prize. He is also the author of the novel A Place in Mind (1989).
Often employing narrative techniques, Lea’s poetry is marked by a deft portrayal of characters and the natural world. Thomas Swiss, reviewing Searching the Drowned Man in the Sewanee Review, remarked: “Epiphany evolves (…) from a complex blending of abstract statement and the poet’s attentiveness to physical detail. Even in long passages of description the reader hears Lea’s voice affirming the deep connection between human life and the natural world.” In the Hudson ReviewR.S. Gwynn observed: “the ability to create believable regional voices and have them tell compelling tales has always been one of Lea’s great strengths.”
Active in the areas of conservation, Lea has written nonfiction about the natural world and hunting, including the books Hunting the Whole Way Home (1994), A Little Wildness: Some Notes on Rambling (2006), and A North Country Life: Tales of Woodsmen, Waters, and Wildlife (2013)
Lea founded the New England Review in 1977 and was editor until 1989. He has taught at Yale University, Dartmouth College, Middlebury College, and Wesleyan University. A recipient of a Fulbright Award and fellowships from the Rockefeller Foundation and the Guggenheim Foundation, Lea was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry for Pursuit of a Wound. He lives in Vermont, where he was named the state's 2011 Poet Laureate.

Roads Taken: Contemporary Vermont Poetry, Second Edition Cover Image
By Sydney Lea (Editor), Chard deNiord (Editor), Dan Chiasson (Introduction by)
This is a special order. Please contact the store for info: flyingpigorders@gmail.com.
ISBN: 9781732266230
Availability: Special Order
Published: Green Writers Press - June 21st, 2018

With its mystical landscape and fiercely self-reliant citizenry, Vermont has inspired poets from its earliest days. This anthology of contemporary Vermont poets represents a wide range of accomplished voices?both young and old, both renowned and relatively unestablished. Their poems reverberate with what W.H. Auden called “memorable speech” in a wide variety of forms and subjects.

What’s the Story?: Reflections On A Life Grown Long Cover Image
ISBN: 9780990973393
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Green Writers Press - November 9th, 2015

What’s the Story? Reflections on a Life Grown Long is, in many ways, a kaleidoscopic chronicle of this ongoing search.

Growing Old in Poetry Cover Image
ISBN: 9780999499559
Availability: Often on our shelves, but if we're temporarily out, we can get back in!
Published: Green Writers Press - July 27th, 2018

Normal0falsefalsefalseEN-USJAX-NONE Sydney Lea and Fleda Brown, past poets laureate of their respective states and both nationally recognized writers who’ve given their lives to their art, have conspired to write an unusual book of essays. They’ve picked a wide variety of topics and headed out as they wished with each, covering a lot of territory, both artistic and memoiristic. Some of the pieces

I Was Thinking of Beauty Cover Image
This is a special order. Please contact the store for info: flyingpigorders@gmail.com.
ISBN: 9781935536314
Availability: Special Order
Published: Four Way Books - April 9th, 2013

It's been said about Lea that “this extraordinary poet finds an elegance and beauty that can be glimpsed throughout his often harsh landscape.” This new collection evidences that skill. Here the natural world coexists with the poet’s boundless intellect.

Ghost Pain: Poems Cover Image
This is a special order. Please contact the store for info: flyingpigorders@gmail.com.
ISBN: 9781932511147
Availability: Special Order
Published: Sarabande Books - April 1st, 2005

"Singer of stories, lyric raconteur, Sydney Lea has evolved--through a long, rich career--into one of America's most harrowing and honest poets. Ghost Pain is his most eloquent and wrenching book."--T.R. Hummer

"Ghost Pain is a remarkable book, which takes his work to a new level."--Stephen Dunn

How to Use Your Gift Cards Online

Hello! If you have a Flying Pig gift card (the cute plastic one with the pig and clouds), here's how to use it online:

Select the books you'd like to order. During the checkout process, you'll see a menu of options. Click on the little black arrow next to Store Gift Card pane:

Once you've expanded that menu item, you'll see a box to check Yes:

Once you click the checkbox Yes, you'll be asked to enter your gift card number. That's the number under the barcode on the back of your gift card. It might be a short or long number:

Enter it into the box below the words Enter Your Gift Card Number:

That's it! You will have to add a credit card as a backup in case your gift card doesn't cover the full amount of your purchase. **Because the website doesn't 'know' what amount is on your store gift card — the website and store system are separate entities — you will not see your gift card applied until your order leaves its Pending status and is Processing or Completed.**

If you received an Online Gift Code (NOT a physical card, but a string of numbers and letters emailed to you), please refer to your emailed gift to redeem those! They are applied instantly when you visit the website via the gift code email.

If you have further questions, please email us at flyingpigorders@gmail.com!